A history of the Family Miller

The Nymphenburg Castle holds the southern galery of which King Ludwig I's beauty galery is the most celebrated room:

36 aristocratic and bourgeois women, extravagant ladies and respectable maidens of the peasantry acted as models to the painter Joseph Stieler between 1827 and 1850, among them several of the King's mistresses like Helene Sedlmayr the so-called “Beauty Of Munich“, a local shoemaker's daughter and Lola Montez, who contributed greatly to the downfall of the previously popular king.

But it was the ideal of beauty not a beauty contest that reflects the galery's meaning.

The picture of Helene Sedlmayr is probably the prettiest one in which the galery's main idea, the portrayal of virtuous beauty was masterly implemented.

She even attracted a king: Helene Kreszenz Sedlmayr, born in Trostberg near Traunstein Feb 12th 1813 as the daughter of a reputable shoemaker became a maid in Altötting. She worked in the same capacity in Munich between 1828 until 1830 and as records show is said to have been an extremely trustworthy and industrious person. During the years 1830/31 she worked in a fashion- and toy shop owned by the merchant Auracher on Brennerstraße where she also worked as an escort-lady.

Queen Therese, Ludwig's wife once bought toys for her princes at Auracher's which Helene was supposed to deliver to the residence. As luck would have it she met the king himself who, surprised by her extraordinary beauty and chastidy asked for her name and family background.

When she met him again in her Sunday clothes wearing a silver bonnet on her pitchblack hair he decided to have her picture painted for the beauty galery.

The King wooed her with following words:

"Don´t have such a searching and inquiring glance. You frech, loveliest beauty, look at me and trust me."

The King wooed this ‘Beauty of Munich’ with great desire and determination which, for a common shoemakers’ daughter, could not be without consequence.

To protect the Royal Court from embarrassment, Helene Sedlmeyer was betrothed to the ‘Hofmarshall Miller’ who, as a loyal servant to the King, had no choice but to accept the marriage

Helene Miller died in age 85 and were buried on the Campo Santo of the southern cemetery near the Great Cross of Halbig. The painting of the young Helene as she was 18 was finished in 1831 by Josef Stieler and has immortalize her as the ´beautiful maiden of Munich`.

This is how Helene Sedlmeyer became the great, great grandmother of the brothers Ernst and Peter Miller and their sister Felicitas. To this day, after more than 100 years, Helene Sedlmeyer still influences the destiny of the family.

Miller Family

In der Südlichen Galerie des Nymphenburger Schlosses hat die Schönheitengalerie König Ludwigs I. die größte Anziehungskraft. 36 Aristokratinnen und Bürgerstöchter, extravagante Ladies und biedere Landmädchen saßen dem Maler Josef Stieler zwischen 1827 und 1850 Modell, darunter auch ›Romanzen‹ des Königs, wie die Schuhmachermeisterstochter Helene Sedlmayr, die als ›Schöne Münchnerin‹, oder die Tänzerin Lola Montez, die als hochnotpeinliches Politikum in die Geschichte einging. Doch war nicht Schönheitswettbewerb, sondern Darstellung des Schönheitsideals der Sinn dieser Galerie.

Das Bild von Helene Sedlmayr ist das wahrscheinlich schönste Bild, in dem vor allem der Gedanke der Schönheitengalerie, die Darstellung tugendhafter Schönheit, auf das Meisterlichste umgesetzt wurde.

Sie schlug sogar einen König in ihren Bann: Helene Kreszenz Sedlmayr, in Trostberg bei Traunstein am 12. Februar 1813 geboren als Tochter eines ehrsamen Schuhmachermeisters, bekam mit 14 Jahren eine Stelle als Dienstmagd zu Altötting. Von 1828 bis 1830 war sie in gleicher Eigenschaft, laut einem noch vorhandenen Dienstbücherl „ungemein fleißig, treu, brav und reinlich” in München tätig. In den Jahren 1830/31 war sie in dem Mode- und Spielwarengeschäft des Kaufmanns Auracher in der Brennerstraße beschäftigt, wo sie auch als Ausgehmädel Verwendung fand.

Einst hatte die Königin Therese, Gemahling Ludwigs I., für ihre Prinzen bei Auracher Spielwaren eingekauft, die Helene in die Residenz bringen musste. Der Zufall fügte, das sie im Schloß dem Könige selbst begegnete, der, überrascht von ihrer außergewöhnlichen Schönheit und Züchtigkeit, nach Namen und Herkommen fragte. Als er sie wieder einmal im Sonntagsputz mit silbernen Riegelhäubchen auf dem pechschwarzen Haar traf, fasste er den Entschluss, ihr Bild für seine Schönheitengalerie malen zu lassen.

Der König soll diese umworben haben mit folgenden Worten:

„Blick nicht so forschend und fragend, Du blühenste, lieblichste Schöne, sieh vertrauend mich an. Wahrlich, Du kannst es mit Recht.“

Eine einfache Schusterstocher, vom König umworben: dies blieb nicht ohne Folgen. Die schöne Münchnerin wurde alsbald mit dem Hofmarschall Miller verheiratet, der als treuer Diener seines Königs in die Eheschließung einwilligen musste.

Helene Miller starb im hohen Alter von 85 Jahren und wurde auf dem Campo Santo des Südlichen Friedhofes nahe dem großen Kreuze von Halbig zur ewigen Ruhe gebettet. Das Bildnis der 18jährigen Helene in Altmünchner Tracht wurde 1831 von Joseph Stieler gemalt und hat das junge Mädchen als „schöne Münchnerin” im Bewusstsein der Bevölkerung verewigt

So kann man sagen, dass die Ur-Ur-Großmutter der Gebrüder Ernst und Peter und deren Schwester Felicitas Miller, nämlich jene Helene Sedlmayr, noch heute nach über 100 Jahren die Geschichte der Familie beeinflusst.